the Life and Times of Warrior Woman

blonde recluse. nihilarian pronk.

church exteriors.

with 2 comments

Even before my renewed foray in Orthodoxy, I’ve always liked the way the churches look — outside and inside.  My photographic skills were naught and there’s not a lot of improvements through the years either, but that doesn’t stop me from taking pictures.

These are just a few photos that I’ve found on my external HDD.  The thing is, there probably aren’t many others.  But I’ll dig around when I have some spare time, God willing.

Now, these two pictures were taken back in 2005 (maybe ’06), with my mobile camera.  Which was something like 0.3 mpx, so ye do not judge.  😛  I’m showing these pictures because this is the church that I was baptised in.  There’s a funny story connected to my baptism, too, but I have no time to write it.

Don’t you like it when people say that?  That there’s something funny, but they have no time to write it?  Thought so.

Anyway, so this church is pretty old.  You know Pushkin?  The greatest Russian poet?  Right, well when he was in exile in Moldova, he reportedly visited this church.  It’s not the oldest one in the city, though.

These two were taken in 2005, in Novotroitsk.  This Peter & Paul Cathedral is new, built at the end of the 20th century.  Here is a picture of it in daylight.  I took mine when returning home from a trip around town.  It wasn’t that late, but it was late enough to produce rather dark and gloomy pictures.  I like them, though they were completely accidental.

And these three photos were taken in Old Orhei in 2010.  I am unsure about the church, but the chapel (its roof is seen in the first of three pictures) is old.  As it’s a historical complex, I assume that the church is pretty ancient as well, but one can never be too sure.  I should read up!

Written by Alexandra

12 July 2012 at 6:53 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thanks for these pictures! I lived in Moldova for four months and it is great to see pictures of the beautiful buildings that I used to see on my way around town.

    http://stepstochangetheworld.wordpress.com/

    ChangeTheWorld

    13 July 2012 at 5:05 pm

    • Thank you for your kind words! It always surprises me when people know about Moldova — and you have visited it! I hope you liked your stay. The country isn’t without its problems, but nature, architecture and rural parts are pretty interesting.

      Alexandra

      14 July 2012 at 6:32 am


Leave a Reply

