the Life and Times of Warrior Woman

blonde recluse. nihilarian pronk.

reading and watching.

with one comment

I am still a bit terrified of making any solid plans for the approaching 2013.  To ease myself into it, I thought I’d start with something light-hearted, like books and movies.

I always make these challenges for myself, wherein I’d decide to watch 500 movies all the while reading 200 books.  It never happens, of course, as I’m not a film critic or a book reviewer.  Come February I find myself 50 movies and 20 books behind the challenge, so I drop it completely.

This year, I’m going to set it to something lighter.  I’m going to pledge to read 33 books and watch 150 movies.

Of these 33 books 6 will be Big Srs Reads.  This year, I plan on tackling:

  • Anna Karenina, by Leo Tolstoy; I’ve started this three times and stopped somewhere on page 120.  Now that the Joe Wright movie is out, I really want to finish reading the original before the film premieres here.
  • Crime and Punishment, by Fyodor Dostoevsky;
  • Divine Comedy, by Dante Alighieri; this book’s fate is similar to that of Karenina.  I keep starting it and dropping it.  Starting and dropping.
  • Don Quixote, by Miguel de Cervantes;
  • Little Women, by Louise May Alcott;
  • Master & Margarita, by Mikhail Bulgakov.

Additionally, two books should be dedicated to my profession, and two books should deal with God and/ or theology.

I’d also like to make my way through the entire Bible in 2013, but that’s pushing it.  Also, I will probably discuss it in a separate post.

These are all the books that I keep telling myself I’d read, but end up reading some urban fantasy young adultish once again.

Actually, it’d be nice to focus the entire year on all those books that have been on my ‘to read soon’ list for a while now.  The only reason I’m not going to list them here (though I LOVE lists) is that if I write a definite list, I’d become inundated by it and read eight hundred different books on frugality instead.

Out of 150 movies I plan on watching, at least 30 should be classics.  Say… 15 should be Soviet/ Russian classics, and 15 should be foreign classics.  I took a good look at my movie list the other day, and I’m terrified to say that it mostly consists of whatever blockbuster was released whenever.  So aside from these flicks, I’m going to try and watch something more serious.

Written by Alexandra

17 December 2012 at 1:53 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] already wrote my reading & watching goals, my financial goals, and my style goals.  Now it’s high time I post more serious life […]


Leave a Reply

