the Life and Times of Warrior Woman

blonde recluse. nihilarian pronk.

read recently (2012).

with 2 comments

(Though tagged ‘book reviews’, this is more of ‘book notes’.  I am not eloquent or educated enough to write reviews.)

I’ve read so little books in 2012, and mentioned only one or two here, I thought I’d aggregate the rest in one post.

Harry Potter: the Prequel, by J.K. Rowling;

OK, this isn’t really a book, but it’s listed as such on goodreads.  There isn’t much to say, except that I expected better from Rowling.

First steps in the Temple, published by Sretensky monastery;

A primer on what to do at Orthodox Church.  Easily written, is short, gives all the basic information a neophyte might require.

Christian regard towards parents, by A.I. Pliusnin;

Similar to the one above, a primer with reference to the Holy Texts.  Touches briefly on complicated and painful relationships.  What I liked is that it emphasises mutual respect.

Sense and Sensibility, by Jane Austen;

A little bit harder to get through than Emma or Pride and Prejudice (the other two novels by Austen that I’ve read), but enjoyable nonetheless.  Available online.

the Moon and Sixpence, by Somerset W. Maugham;

I don’t know what I expected this book to be about, but for some reason I conceived different images.  the Moon and Sixpence is allegedly based on the life of Paul Gauguin.  If that is so, then let me tell you, Paul Gauguin, may he rest in peace, was a dick.  Anyway, the book is very good, read it if you have the chance.  It’s free of copyright and can be downloaded at Project Gutenberg.

Oligarch’s Tender Spouse, by Daria Dontsova;

Cosy mystery type thing.  Neither here, nor there.  I’m not a huge fan of Dontsova’s work, but she has her moments, so I will probably read more.  Grandmother’s collecting of her books makes it painfully easy.

Big Guns Out of Uniform, by Sherrilyn Kenyon & others;

I actually didn’t finish this.  It wasn’t bad, honestly.  I just didn’t like it.

Frugillionaire, by Francine Jay;

This book is basically an expanded list of tips on how to save money in different areas.  I didn’t find it very useful, but for the beginner frugal it might hold some sound advice.

How to feed a family of 4 or more for less than $200 a month, by Melissa “Liss” Burnell;

Some of the recipes for quick coffee mixes I found interesting, but I believe they’re all available freely on the author’s site.  Aside from those few recipes, and the fact that I enjoy reading people’s stories of frugality, I didn’t find this book useful at all.  If you’re short on money, don’t spend it on this book.

the Shoestring Girl: How I Live on Practically Nothing and You Can Too, by Annie Jean Brewer;

Now this book I found interesting and helpful.  It’s also very decently priced, so even if you’re on a very tight budget, I recommend you spend the money on it.  I can’t vouch for all advice in this book, but most of it is very practical, and I bookmarked quite a few tips for future reference.

Underground Guide to Living Frugal, by Bjorn Karger;

The author of the Shoestring Girl recommends this book in her references.  I bought it before I read the references, but read it after I read the Shoestring Girl.  From what I understood, the Underground Guide is one of the original works on frugality.  It’s quite useful and full of sound advice, but I found the advice in this book less applicable to my life than the one in the Shoestring Girl.  Perhaps it’s incorrect to compare the two, but there you go, I did.  If you have a few bucks to spare, however, this book is a good read.

31 Days to Clean- Having a Martha House the Mary Way, Sarah Mae;

I’m on the fence about this one.  It’s a book on cleaning and acceptance of self.  I see how many people might find it helpful.  I, however, didn’t.

Christmas Gifts They’ll Actually Like! 25 Easy, Homemade Gift Ideas – Plus Instructions, by Casey Tucker and Lynn Rogers;

Well, I’m not sure about the 25, but I did find some of the ideas enjoyable.  God willing, I will implement them next Christmas.

How to manage your money when you don’t have any, by Erik Wecks;

This is one of the most honest books on personal finance I’ve read in a while.  I’m currently implementing a couple of ideas from it.

21 days to a more disciplined life, by Crystal Paine;

I’ve read this, and later on I’ll work on implementing ideas suggested.  It’s a good book, although sometimes I found the MegaProject section… incomplete, somehow.

And that’s it.  17 books overall, only three fiction books, two of them serious.  I hope 2013 will be more prolific.

Written by Alexandra

2 January 2013 at 1:05 pm

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I am really tickled that you liked my book. What are you implementing from it?

    Erik Wecks

    3 January 2013 at 10:03 pm

    • Thank you for commenting — and for writing the book! I wrote down the game plan you suggested on a separate sheet of paper, and am currently trying to find out exactly how much the household makes each month. We’re on a variable income (all three of us), so it’s a bit tricky. I’ve already started paying off debts and making an emergency fund. Next step is making a zero-based budget (will need to re-read the chapter) and switching to living on previous month’s income instead of current and, if needs are not met, getting sidejobs.

      Once more, thank you for writing the book. It really was a refresher from all the other books and articles I’ve read over the years.

      Alexandra

      4 January 2013 at 9:10 am


Leave a Reply

