the Life and Times of Warrior Woman

blonde recluse. nihilarian pronk.

end year survey.

leave a comment »

I hesitated posting this one even more so than I hesitated posting general month-to-month year review.  But I’ve done this for a couple of years now, writing this little survey.  So I went with it.  It’s not very exciting, so it’s behind the cut.

1. What did you do in 2012 that you’d never done before?
Changed a diaper.  Buried grandmother, mother.

2. Did you keep your goals/resolutions for 2012?
No.  Well, I lost a bit of weight, but it wasn’t the direct result of effort concentrating on a goal, so no.

3. What was your favorite moment of the year?
Every single moment I got to spend with mum and gran.

4. What was your least favorite moment of the year?
Er.  Somewhere between finding out diagnoses and hearing about deaths and seeing my mother take her last breath.

5. What date(s) from 2012 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
7 February 2012.  31 May 2012.  28 November 2012.  Again, I don’t really think I need to repeat why.

6. What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Getting through.

7. What was the best new thing you got?
Despite the tragedies, this was quite the year of acquiring things.  I can’t decide on the favourite, but all three pieces of technology I purchased (laptop, camera, e-reader) are somewhere there.

8. What did you pine for, but never received?
The fjords.  (I’m so funny it hurts.)  I’ve had two wishes, and later on only one wish, which was not granted.  Again, no repeating.

9. What did you get really excited about?
Whenever mum or gran would feel better.

10. What do you wish you’d done more of?
Oh, what do I not wish I’d done more of.  Times like these bring all the questions and could’ve-beens one can possibly imagine.

11. What do you wish you’d done less of?
I don’t know.

12. Did you fall in love?
Yes.  (Still single, though.)

13. What were your greatest musical discoveries?
None.  I’ve heard some new songs I liked, but as I grow older, I’m becoming more and more reluctant about giving new bands and artists a try.  The whiny rock of today is, well, too whiny.

14. What were your favorite movies that you watched in 2012?
Birdcage and Marigold Hotel.

15. What were the best books you read?

Here’s my goodreads 2012 shelf, sorted by rating.  The Moon & Sixpence by Maugham stands out in my mind.

16. What did you do on your birthday?
Not much, but what matters is who I spent it with.

17. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2012?
”Is this clean?” *sniff* “Yeah, it’ll do.”

18. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned:
All lives are lost; all hearts are broken.  Do not pity the dead; pity the living.  Now faith is the substance of things hoped for, the evidence of things not seen.

19. What are your goals/plans for 2013?
Feast yer eyes.

20. How did you celebrate the new year?
With father, brother, cousin & her partner by Moscow time.  With brother by local time.  The night after that was spent in the company of 7 cats.

Written by Alexandra

5 January 2013 at 1:40 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

